Congratulations to Jeannette Hopson!

PCAP’s Finest Telecommunicator of the Year

It gives me great pleasure to announce that Jeannette Hopson, Senior Dispatcher at the Bureau of Emergency Communications (BOEC), has been chosen as this year’s recipient of the Telecommunicator of the Year Award. 

NICE’s PSAPs’ Finest Awards are given annually to recognize the dedicated individuals and team stand-outs in public safety emergency communications. Winners are selected by an independent panel of volunteer judges from the public safety community who evaluate nominees based on their accomplishments, skills, knowledge, and dedication. It is a prestigious honor that serves to acknowledge the best of the best in public safety professionals.

Jeannette Hopson has been with BOEC for almost 14 years. She serves as BOEC’s representative on the PPA Executive Board, was a member of the BOEC contract negotiation team, and has coached new employees in training.

I have personally been inspired by Jeannette’s dedication and professionalism in serving our community as a 911 dispatcher. It’s a tough job and she exhibits exemplary calm and grace under pressure. The unexpected circumstances of this year have called particular attention to the life-saving work of public safety professionals—steadfast, essential front-line heroes.

For the past 15 years, awards have been presented at the National Association of Public-Safety Communications Officials (APCO) Conference but due to COVID and the cancellation of the event, a special virtual awards presentation will be held in October via LinkedIn Live. And we look forward to sharing that even with you next month.

In the meantime, I hope you will take this opportunity to show your support for one of our own by extending your personal congratulations when you see Jeannette!

Daryl Turner, President
Portland Police Association

NICE Announces the 2020 PSAPs’ Finest Award Winners Honoring Dedicated Emergency Communications Professionals

The 2020 PSAPs’ Finest Awards from NICE recognize individuals for their outstanding contributions to the field of public safety in the following seven categories: Telecommunicator, Line Supervisor, Technician, Trainer, Communications Center Director, Innovator, and PSAP of the Year. The program also recognizes an individual annually with a special Lifetime Achievement award.